FAQ

Why should I take the course?

Upon successful completion, you will have learned how to become a safe and responsible motorcyclist, will receive a DMV licensing skills test waiver, and possible insurance discount.

 

How do I sign up for a course?

Signing up for a course is as easy as clicking on the Register Now button at the top of every page. Choose the course you would like to attend the Click the Register Button. Once you complete the application and your payment is successfully processed you will be enrolled in the course.

 

How long does the course take?

The course is approximately 16 hours total.

 

If I’m under 18 years old, can I enroll in the course?

If you are between 151/2 and 18 years old you will need your parent or legal guardian to attend the classroom sesssion with you. They must also bring their identification.

New Law Regarding Motorcycle Instruction Permit:

Effective January 1, 2011 any individual 21 years and under are required to complete a CMSP Motorcyclist Safety Course before being issued a motorcycle permit.  The permit must be held for at least 6 months before being issued a class M motorcycle driver license endorsement.

 

Do I need to have any riding experience?

It is not essential to have any riding experience. However, you need to have the ability to balance and stabilize a two-wheeled vehicle. If you have not ridden a bicycle in a long time, it would be a good idea to get some practice before attempting to ride a motorcycle.

 

Do I need to get a learner’s permit before I take the course?

No, a learner’s permit is not required to take this course however, you must be able to provide proof of ONE of the following on the first night of your class. Individuals without a proper Government ID will be turned away and will have to reschedule their course.
Acceptable Government Issued Photo ID’s are as follows (This can be from California, another state or another country):

a. State Driver’s License
b. Permit (will require an approved photo ID as well)
c. State Identification
d. Foreign Driver’s License
e. Passport

***If under the age of 18 a Parent or Guardian MUST accompany you to the first Class! No exceptions! The parent or guardian will not need to stay for the entire class, just the first few minutes to sign a waiver.

 

Any potential student who possesses a license that has been restricted due to one or more convictions for driving while impaired may not participate in any CMSP RiderCourse until all restrictions to the license have been lifted. All potential students will be asked to attest that they are not in possession of a restricted license.”

quoted from the CMSP

 

What is the cost of the course?

The cost of the CMSP Basic Course is $258.00 for riders who are 21 years old and older and $180 for under 21 years old. Please be aware that tuition for the Basic RiderCourse does not include DMV fees associated with obtaining your motorcycle license.

 

What do I need to bring to the course?

You must be able to provide proof of ONE of the following on the first night of your class. Individuals without a proper Government ID will be turned away and will have to reschedule their course.
Acceptable Government Issued Photo ID’s are as follows (This can be from California, another state or another country):

a. State Driver’s License
b. Permit (will require an approved photo ID as well)
c. State Identification
d. Foreign Driver’s License
e. Passport

***If under the age of 18 a Parent or Guardian MUST accompany you to the first Class! No exceptions! The parent or guardian will not need to stay for the entire class, just the first few minutes to sign a waiver.

We will provide the motorcycle. Helmets are also provided if you do not have your own. Regardless of your riding experience, you are required to wear a helmet during the riding portion of your class. You should come to the riding portion with  a long sleeved shirt or jacket,  long denim pants and sturdy over the ankle boots (canvas and athletic shoes will not be accepted).

 

Do I need to bring a motorcycle to the course?

Motorcycles will be provided for you at the training sites.

 

What if I don’t pass the knowledge test or the skills evaluation?

If you do not pass the knowledge test or the skills evaluation, you are permitted a one time re-take

 

Will I get a license after the course?

You will receive a skills test waiver after successfully completing the Course. This waiver will allow graduates to go to the DMV and take only the written test for their motorcycle endorsement. Please be aware that tuition for the CMSP Motorcyclist Training Course (MTC) does not include DMV fees associated with obtaining your motorcycle license. Please note, the DL389 certificates are mailed and typically arrive within 10 days of completing the course.